shepquest

Home » General subjects. Excelsior, you Fathead! » EXCELSIOR, YOU FATHEAD! ADDITIONS

EXCELSIOR, YOU FATHEAD! ADDITIONS

EYF! Was published in March, 2005. Subsequently, through research and happenstance, I’ve become aware of more info on Shep –see my blog references for the complete essays on each subject. I’ve posted them on Facebook (Eugene B. Bergmann) and my blog, shepquest.wordpress.com. Here are the references to a couple of these. Below I just indicate a bit of each. Should there be an updated version of my EYF! (though I highly doubt it). I indicate where this info might appropriately be inserted.

Importantly is the information I’ve gathered on Lois Nettleton and Leigh Brown, indicating their importance to Shep’s personal and professional life. For complete article, including visual material, see my blog for June 30, 2021.

Lois was the “listener” in Shep’s earliest New York days. She and Shep talked on the phone live on his program, met, dated, and married. She listened to his earliest overnight programs–she and Jean would discuss the shows afterward. She supported him professionally and personally.

Leigh began at WOR as an assistant and worked her way up to becoming his wife, helper, sometime-producer, and book agent for him. Many friends and associates indicated her importance to him—he could not live without her.

I’ve encountered many Shep enthusiasts subsequent to the book’s publication. Most interestingly and importantly is Dee Snider, leader/creator of the group “Twisted Sister.” Dee and I spent three hours in my “Shep Shrine,” discussing Shep’s influence on him. See my blog for February 21, 2013.

When exploring the ebay.com site for “excelsior,” I encountered the Shep reference to his reply to the greeting, “Excelsior, you fathead.” Without question in my mind, it is the Excelsior Soda Bottle Company! See my blog for September 20, 2022.

FOR A POSSIBLE BOOK ADDITIONS, INSERT AS NOTED BELOW:

Lois and Leigh page 293-300.

“Seltzer bottle” page 217.

Dee Snider (frontman/creator of group “Twisted Sister” (Best known for “We’re Not Gonna Take It”) at end of page 405 titled MORE ACCOLADES.

Excelsior, you fatheads!


3 Comments

  1. David Deyell, says:

    Updates are always appreciated. Great follow through. Waiting for more Bergmann blogs.

  2. Mike from Jersey says:

    Thank you for the update. I was just listening to you on an old WBAI show with Max.
    I hope you go back on again.

  3. Bud says:

    Wonderful of you to furnish us Fatheads with this update, Gene! Thank you so much!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.