shepquest

Home » ARTSY FARTSY » JEAN SHEPHERD Kid Stories–April Fooled & (84) ARTSY Graphic Novels Part 5

JEAN SHEPHERD Kid Stories–April Fooled & (84) ARTSY Graphic Novels Part 5

And I got about five feet from the steps when the denouement occurred.  I heard from somewhere, off in the middle distance, a fiendish cackle.  “Heeheeheehee! Such a fantastic person Heeheehee!  I love you wawawawa!” And it was coming from under somebody’s porch!  It was coming from under Patty Remaley’s porch!  I heard “Heeheehee Patty Remaley, I love you wawawa.”  I looked and I saw all the tulips growing up there and beginning to blossom.  (This, by the way, is why I always hated tulips ever since.  I used to like tulips when I was a simple, unspoiled person of five.  But after that moment, tulips had another connotation.)  I looked through the tulips and I could see hordes of evil, fiendish eyes peering out from under Patty Remaley’s porch!  They heard!

And that cackling rose in volume!  I was a buffoon!  You’ve all seen Charlie Chaplin, but have you ever wondered how it felt to be that buffoon?  I don’t mean Charlie Chaplin playing him, I mean being him!  I was walking down the street, my feet going out sideways, and I could hear the “Heeheeheeheewawawa.  Oh, what a beautiful red hat you got wawa.”  Schwartz and Flick and Bruner and Jack Robinson and Grover Dill and Farkas, the whole damn bunch!  It was the entire crowd from sixth grade, all of them.  “Heeheeheeheewawawa.

_____________________________________

_____________________________________

artsyfratsy 10010

Graphic Novels

There is so much more to show and say about graphic novels. I’ve got hundreds of them in dozens of styles by dozens of known and unknown creators. Not all styles of artwork would appeal to everybody. I am attracted to some not because they are pretty, but because they stretch the limits of visual presentation and mental framework in ways I find intriguing.

Shatter, by Mchael Saenz & Peter Gillis, published in book form in 1988, claims to be the first sci-fi “comic produced by computer.” Enlarging this page better reveals the computer graphics.

shatter

The most bizarre and quirky example in graphic novels that I’ve come across  is Larry Marder’s Tales of the Beanworld, described in its subtitle as “A most peculiar comic book experience.”.

beanworld-combo

Two “Beanworld” pages from different issues.

(Most of the various images from this comic series are

as strange and different as these.)

My apologies to all the numberless creators of fine graphic novels

not mentioned in my incomplete survey.

I carry on, with my continuing artsys,

in a comic, but relevant, variation on the foregoing.

ARTSY ARROWS0010

_____________________________

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

