shepquest

Home » General subjects. Excelsior, you Fathead! » SHEP’S KID STORY BOOK Front Matter

SHEP’S KID STORY BOOK Front Matter

kid book cover

Proposed Cover Design by Eugene B. Bergmann

Photo Courtesy of Steve Glazer and Bill Ek

frontispiece (3)

2907 Cleveland Street, Hammond, Indiana,

where Jean Shepherd spent most of his years

as a kid. In his stories of being a kid,

he frequently describes the house.

Recent photo, courtesy of Steve Farkas.

•    •    •

I WAS THIS KID, SEE

 JEAN SHEPHERD KID STORIES

Selected and edited by Eugene B. Bergmann

Other books by Eugene B. Bergmann

Shep’s Army—Bummers, Blisters, and Boondoggles (Transcriber &Editor)

Excelsior, You Fathead! The Art and Enigma of Jean Shepherd

This book is dedicated to the kid-hood of my kids, of my wife, myself,

and all kids everywhere including that of the invented kid, Ralphie.

[epigraphs]

“I was this kid, see.”  — Jean Shepherd introducing countless kid stories.

*

But we are the sum of all the moments of our lives–all that is

ours is in them: we cannot escape or conceal it.  If the writer has

used the clay of life to make his book, he has only used what all

men must, what none can keep from using.  Fiction is not fact, but

fiction is fact selected and understood, fiction is fact arranged

and charged with purpose.

–From “To the Reader,”

beginning Thomas Wolfe’s Look Homeward, Angel

*

 “I spent the afternoon musing on Life. If you come to think of it,

what a queer thing Life is! So unlike anything else, don’t you know,

if you see what I mean.” ― P.G. Wodehouse, My Man Jeeves

_______________________________________

 

7 Comments

  1. Bud says:

    “Boy, oh, boy!” How I can’t wait to get my hands on this gem when it hits the market! I will buy several edition ‘print’ copies to give as gifts, as well. Looks to be shaping up in a magnificent way, Gene. A worthy addition to all of your previous Shep masterpieces. Thank you!

    • ebbergmann says:

      I only wish it could get published in print, but the 2 publishers who sounded so positive have not responded. As I said before, one said a contract only awaited a major publisher to sign on the dotted line. Vanished!

  2. Jackie Lannin says:

    Gene-is this going to be published- cover is great and I am sure t
    he stories will be great to have in one place.

    • ebbergmann says:

      Well, Jackie, as I’ve said in a couple of previous posts–especially the last blog post–I’ve given up on trying to get it published in print. The two publishers who 7 months ago seemed so positive have disappeared from thew radar. If a publisher approaches me, I’ll take it, but that’s not likely, That’s why I’m posting it on the blog.

      • Anonymous says:

        Sorry to hear about vanishing publishers- this would take the heat off my Christmas shopping -every one would get a copy. I think my non-Shep friends like me relaying stories- and I do often- but getting them, especially the younger ones to sit down and digest all we have experienced in small doses does not go over well… Thanks for the great blog postings…Hope summer is going well for you.

      • ebbergmann says:

        Thanks. remember that my Shep’s Army has dozens of his stories transcribed by me–never before in print.

  3. Tom says:

    Looks like Grover Dill flat caps were all the rage back then.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

