shepquest

Home » ARTSY FARTSY » JEAN SHEPHERD–Accolades, a Blog as well as (26) ARTSY

JEAN SHEPHERD–Accolades, a Blog as well as (26) ARTSY

Jean Shepherd is my most elaborate and long-lasting artsy fartsy subject matter. My obsession and constant work on Shep-projects, that started roughly 10/19/1999, has no end in sight. It’s a constant theme of my daily life, including my searches on ebay where I encounter false hits such as the differently spelled name of a country/western singer, non-Shepherd encounters such as a 19th century poet, parts of names of actors, movies, books, etc., and objects of other sorts that include the name Shepherd.

I preserve and display my Shepherd files in “The Shep Shrine.” This includes his poster; his books; my Shep-books; books about radio including some with text about him; his original drawings; his films and videos; many audios of his broadcasts; text and audios of interviews of him and me; media articles and audios about him; photos of him; file boxes of my continuously updated book notes and background info; my original handwritten published and unpublished notes and manuscripts of books about him; text and info and props regarding my play about him and my Shep-blog; a box devoted to many “Shep People” associated with him, especially about Lois Nettleton and Leigh Brown; a copy of his will; a large “Excelsior” banner; Excelsior Seltzer bottles; a small glass-topped box containing kazoo, jews harp, nose flute, and brass figlagee with bronze oakleaf palm; voluminous esoterica and various etceteras. And a one-of-a-kind Jean Shepherd bobblehead.

eb shep shrine (2)

The Shep Shrine and Me

(Partial View)

Jean Shepherd, as always, needs more recognition and effective promotional methods. He is quoted as having said, “You could be on New York radio for many years and be widely unknown.”

In my  Excelsior, You Fathead: the Art and Enigma of Jean Shepherd,

preceding the book’s title and the rest of the 495 pages, I begin with accolades:

accolades 1accolades 2a

2 Comments

  1. Mike from Jersey says:

    Mr. Bergmann, I was just wondering, in your Shep Shrine, do you have the Little Orphan Annie secret decoder ring that Ovaltine offered about a dozen years ago? Also there was a anniversary Red Ryder BB gun exactly like the one in the movie issued about 20 years ago. Is there a market for Shep stuff, or are we Sheppers a niche group of eccentrics?
    My Hoosier mom’s Shep autographed 1938 Hammond High yearbook, a guy offered me for it a grand donation to a Lions Club fund for the Blind that I was involved with, do you think I should have took it?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

