shepquest

Home » BOBBLEHEAD » JEAN SHEPHERD–the BOBBLEHEAD ! Part 1 of 2

JEAN SHEPHERD–the BOBBLEHEAD ! Part 1 of 2

BOBBLEHEADS

Presidents get bobbleheads, sports figures get bobbleheads–baseball, even hockey players I never heard of get bobbleheads. Checking on ebay, I noted 76, 799 bobblehead listings. (many, I know, are repeats.) For example, of Brooklyn Dodgers’ Pee Wee Reese rolling wheelchair-bound catcher Roy Campanella out for his “Night,” there were 28. Yes, Queen Elizabeth 2 has one. There have been a couple of A Christmas Story character bobbleheads.

ted bobble

Even ted

gets a bobblehead.

Somehow, Harvey Pekar, the creator of the strange and serious and really good-but-little-known comic (graphic novel) American Splendor, gets a bobblehead.

I gather that Pekar got his as part of the opening-night publicity for the movie about him, American Splendor, starring Paul Giamatti. I encountered one on ebay and it now stands in front of my American Splendor graphic novel collection. What must Pekar have thought when he got his? Amused? Proud? Splendid? Totally Unnerved? Did he smile and chuckle silently to himself, saying “How ridiculous!” ?

Pekar full lighter0002

I have often said to myself (ironically and also seriously)

–and even out loud–

in the hearing of my darling wife, Allison,

that I won’t be satisfied until

JEAN SHEPHERD

has his own bobblehead.

Then I will know that he has really made it.

(Alongside Harvey Pekar and ted.)

He will have become a Great American Celebrity!

shep bobblehead

Jean P. Shepherd Bobblehead–

a phony paste-up job in my  dreams.

This Christmas, December 25, 2015 A.D., Santa (through his assistant, Allison), came through for me (in a series of emails and preliminary photos of the work in process, and finally USPS Priority Mail), I now possess what is undoubtedly the only-in-the-world

Jean Shepherd Bobblehead!

Recently arrived from a great bobblehead-conjuring-entity in the sky.

(Stay tuned for the grand unveiling.)

_________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

