shepquest

Home » Brown, Leigh » JEAN SHEPHERD–Chart–Shep and 4 Women

JEAN SHEPHERD–Chart–Shep and 4 Women

Jean Shepherd’s personal life is not of prime interest to me. Yet his relationships with four women in his early days in New York City have some connection to the nature of his work, and much of this has been unknown to the vast majority of Shep enthusiasts. Some unexpected and interesting facts have come my way in my quest to learn as much as I can about his creative life.

As I began to seek new information about the important early years in the New York area, I began to realize that the interconnections in Shep’s life, regarding some important women, were becoming too involved for me to keep clear in my mind without a chart.

______________________

JOAN WARNER

Many are aware of Joan Warner, to whom Shepherd was married before they came to the New York metropolitan area in 1955. According to those who knew Jean and Joan before they came to New York, they had a son, Randall.  At about the time they separated, their daughter Adrian was born. Although the Cincinnati newspaper clipping below has been circulating for some time now, many may not be aware of it. Note how Shep’s radio persona was being described in the paper even before his New York days. Joan refuses to be interviewed about Jean.

505_Shep_Family_1953

(Cincinnati, 1953-1954)

________________________________________

JEANNE KEYES YOUNGSON

Soon after my Excelsior, You Fathead! was published in March of 2005, I received an email from Jeanne Keyes Youngson (of whom I was not aware), saying she had encountered my book and that she had been a “romantic interest” of Jean’s before he began dating Lois Nettleton. Jeanne told me she had participated in the I, Libertine hoax and the Wannamaker protest in 1956. At some time I will describe my meeting with her. I refer to her (not in any negative sense of the term) as “The Vampire Lady.”  The recent photo of her below is from her website.

Vempireprez

________________________________________

LOIS NETTLETON

Young actress Lois had listened to Shepherd during his overnight phase in 1956. I made contact with her after my Excelsior, You Fathead! was published. I’ve had much to tell about her and her relationship with Jean. She was a very important part of his early creative life in New York. See some of my previous posts.

miss chicago 1Lois Nettleton

Lois as Miss Chicago of 1948, and another early photo of her.

As attractive as she appears in these images, after she began work in Hollywood, she transformed into a strikingly attractive woman.

13.lois blue ...

________________________________________

LEIGH BROWN

Leigh Brown, it’s said, was introduced to Jean by their mutual friend, Shel Silverstein. Eventually she began working at WOR, became an important part of Jean’s career, and became his fourth wife. There is much more that I’ve had to say about Leigh–see some of my previous posts.

leigh h.s.photo

Leigh Brown (Nancy Prescott) in high school

______________________

There is more information to come about Jeanne, Lois, and Leigh regarding Jean’s creative life. Stay tuned for more posts down the road. Meanwhile here is my two-part chart (click to enlarge the parts):

                                 l.JS personal chart 1955 on 1

m.JS personal chart 1955 on 2

__________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

