shepquest

Home » Comments about Shep » JEAN SHEPHERD–the comedy gets funnier

JEAN SHEPHERD–the comedy gets funnier

In the four paragraphs below,

Shepherd musing, December 22, 1964.

Comments made  toward the end of a broadcast.

(Every so often we get a straight piece of Shep-philosophy–

this idea he’s presented before, so he obviously feels

that it is a constant for him–but is it?)

__________________________

It’s a rarefied world. It gets more fun by the instant. You know, a lot of people–funny how many people will write–this is by the way, I suppose, a personal comment. How many people will write and will somehow imply, because you comment on things–you know–that are happening in the world–you are necessarily angry. They really will. And I think you’ll agree, Skip [his engineer that night], that I’m one of the least angry men around this station.

I think that the world is far more amusing than it is irritating. I think it’s far more funny than it is tragic. That is, personally–to me. I’ve always felt a little sorry for people who see the world as a tragic place. Who see the world as a serious, unhappy thing. To me, the more ridiculous we get, the more–the paradoxes pile one on top of the other, the more the–I suppose you say–the tragedy gets more poignant and the comedy gets funnier, the more amusing I find this fantastic potpourri.

I could not imagine a world duller than one in which it’s all straightened out–in which everybody thinks good thoughts, where there’s nothing but love, there’s nothing but beauty, nothing but truth, nothing but sensitivity, loveliness, and joy forever. Oh, forever and ever and ever. Oh, what a drag.

You now what you do? Within ten seconds after you arrive in such a paradise, you start lying like a nut–just to get some excitement going. I’m sure of it! After four eons of this kind of paradisiacal pap you’d have to hit somebody on the mouth: “Ah, it’s heaven, is it, Charlie? Well, they never figured on this, did they?” Pow! Right in the mouth. Now what are you going to do? You’re waiting for the action to begin. Believe me, it would begin. Like a vast crock of root beer.

________________________

Shepherd’s musical theme, in all its pompous, self-important bombast,

insinuates itself toward the end of this comic, philosophical excursion.

His idea here is certainly a fairly constant underlying current

in much–but not all-of his forays into mankind’s

foibles and futilities.

Shep

undoubtedly

recognizes that “brouhaha,”

a word that would have fit right into the foregoing

discourse, a word describing turmoil and struggle, is

itself a funny-sounding word, ending in a self-nullifying chortle: “haha.”

__________________________________________________________________________

That broadcast was made only a year after President Kennedy was assassinated,

an event that strongly moved Shepherd.  Only a couple of years later came

the assassinations of Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert Kennedy.

Not long after came a horrific series of mass murders

in this country.

The hatred.

The madness.

Would Shepherd still have made the statement

that life was so

funny?

Would he have,

had he lived

to see

911

?

__________

Two of my close friends were great enthusiasts for the city of New York,

as was Shepherd.

The only good thing about their deaths was that each died

a relatively short time before September 11, 2001.

They were spared having to experience

that terrible event of

smoke, fire, death, and destruction.

-ebb

_________

We all have our defense mechanisms. They help keep us relatively sane and on a relatively, socially acceptable, course. In  the Shep’s philosophy chapter of my EXCELSIOR, YOU FATHEAD! I quote him as having said, “I’m only going through this life as an observer. I have no desire to influence or change anything.” I quote Whitman’s “Song of Myself” where he wrote, “Apart from the pulling and hauling stands what I am,/…Both in and out of the game, and watching and wondering at it.” We know that on occasion Shepherd’s usually hidden emotions emerged. Wife Lois Nettleton commented in an interview regarding JFK’s assassination, “The three of us watched that whole thing and Jean was absolutely absorbed.  We even went down, walked around, went over to St. Patrick’s and saw all the people sitting on the steps and everything.  And he was—he had a very emotional side—very strong feelings, but I think you have to know that if you know his work.”

 Mostly–maybe self-defensively– he kept that hidden.

________________________________________________________________________

3 Comments

  1. Joel says:

    This aspect of Shep’s work had a huge influence on my from the age of 15, to now (73). He taught me to see the world as a giant circus, with humor in so much of it. This has sustained me and given me the ability to enjoy the most mundane experiences, like riding on a bus and watching and listening to people around me. I am grateful to Shep for this gift.

  2. Joel says:

    I add that today, being inundated with video, photos and reports of horrors around the world, it is important to separate myself and know that there is nothing I can do to affect these things other than live my life with love and consideration for the people close to me, and kindness to strangers, as much as I am moved by these things.

    • ebbergmann says:

      I like your comment.
      I just remembered a “Calvin and Hobbes” cartoon strip panel I’ve been saving for many years. Hobbes, the toy tiger, says to Calvin, “I suppose if we couldn’t laugh at things that don’t make sense, we couldn’t react to a lot of life.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

